Gods of Decay

Gods of Decay


'Featured Artist...Friday 08 September 2023...Gods of Decay'

Gods of Decay was formed in Tokyo in 2018 by a Japanese guitarist Frost and a vocalist from Georgia (country) Anna. Their music lies at an intersection of genres and styles such as post-grunge, alternative and gothic metal, the fusion of which gave birth to the dark, "meaty" and yet beautiful sound.

Gods of Decay pride themselves with their strong adherence to melody intricately interwoven with the heavy and angry guitar riffs - a feature that makes the band stand out.

Anna's fascination with modern literature has a strong impact on the lyrics she writes. The major themes in her lyrics are introspective, dreams, vanishing boundaries between the real and the imaginary, madness, and social criticism. Her musical influences range from the mellow The Cure to the brutal Necrophagist. She enjoys experimenting with styles and aims for "theatricality" in her singing manner. She has received opera vocal training in the past, but enjoys experimenting with extreme vocals.

The mastermind behind Gods of Decay's compositions, Frost, names among his favourite artists and major influences such bands as Creed, Pearl Jam and Nirvana. By implementing beautiful melodies into heavy distortion "shell", his compositions are powerful, yet at the same melodious. "Beauty in strength" can well describe the sound that he aims for.

Yorke, the person behind Gods of Decay's basslines and programming, has joined them recently but has immediately brought new colors to the band's musical palette and yet more layers into compositions by balancing out the aggression of Frost's guitar with his mellifluous and sensual basslines. His influences include such bands as Nine Inch Nails, Apex Twin and Portis Head.

In 2021 the band signed with a European record label Sliptrick Records releasing their debut full-length album titled "Collective Psychosis".

The band's latest releases have been widely introduced in music magazines, radio, TV, etc. and have become a hot topic, attracting attention from Japan and abroad.

Godfrost is a Japanese industrial metal music solo project by Gods Of Decay guitarist, Frost. Godfrost conceptualizes a dark world view with musicality that focuses on industrial metal sound incorporating digital sound, rhythm and a melodic post-grunge style. Instrumental versions of the songs have also been recorded.

Guest musicians on Godfrost's first album include familiar musicians such as Yorke (Gods Of Decay) and Kose (Azabusmith) and other talented female vocalists. The self-titled album will be released in digital format via Sliptrick Records later in the year.


  1. Gods of Decay - Collective Psychosis  - Sliptrick - Featured Artist
  2. Fan Girl - Falling - Mandatory Music
  3. Nizhna – Never Too Late – Stephensindiepicks
  4. Starlight & Campbell - Saving Me - Copyright
  5. Weesp Band - Dirt (Грязь) - Copyright
  6. The Neurons - Wild Men Of Borneo - Copyright
  7. Richard Derwingson - Do It All Again - Copyright
  8. Krista Herring - The River - Stephensindiepicks
  9. Kenji Standlee  - Blessing From Above  - Stephensindiepicks
  10. Jenn Vix Ft' Vernon Reid - In The Air Tonight - IMP
  11. Dom Duff - Floc h ar jabado - Copyright
  12. Cabela and Schmitt - Walking on Clouds - Copyright
  13. Gods of Decay - Slugterhouse - Sliptrick - Featured Artist